Before and After

Standard

ImageIt is finally Friday!!!  I thought it would never get here.  So confession Friday!  Here is a recent picture of myself.  Pink is not my favorite color and I hate heels.  After being told by several people I look good in pink, I decided to go out on the limb and wear a pink dress.  I hate it.  I wish I had just worn blue!  Blue is my favorite color and after a couple of drinks, heels are not a good idea.  Moving on, I don’t get out much so it was nice to get out and have a good time.  A few less glasses of champagne would have been a good idea as well.  I will remember that for the next party I go to in about ten years. 

     Well so here is my confession Friday.  I am sharing a picture of myself before I lost a bunch of weight and I wanted to put a picture of my twin (who hasn’t written yet) on so you would realize there are in fact two people writing this blog…this is a hint to Shannon by the way.  Image  I am the one on the right.  I guess you can’t really tell as much so I will have to find a better one.  I cant wait.  Just refrain from calling me a whale.

     So it is Friday and I need to go running but after a long day with little kids I have no energy.  I figured this would help motivate me but it hasn’t worked yet.  I guess energy isn’t an excuse.  The truth is, I had to give Lilly back to her dad for the weekend and I miss her already.  It is hard to want to go for a run when you want to just cuddle up with your daughter and watch a cartoon.  I will see her on Tuesday so it isn’t the end of the world…at least I keep telling myself that.  When you are used to being with your child all the time and then suddenly have to agree to split the time you have with her, it doesn’t really seem fair.  So my motivation today is going to have to be that I set my 40 miles a week goal.  I am not even to ten miles.  I feel like a failure, but I am determined to get there by midnight on Sunday.  I don’t really have any consequences.  It isn’t like I will turn into a pumpkin if I don’t, but I wrote it on my blog so I should probably try to make it happen.

     Image  This is my special motivation for tonight.  Instead of sitting around being all mopy about not having Lilly or money for that matter, I am going to go run my ass off and make popovers.  I posted a picture of them because if you have never had one you MUST HAVE ONE!!!!  “What is a popover?”  I am glad you asked!  It is delicious and it is made out of eggs, butter, milk and flour.  It is so easy even Lilly can make them.  Alright…I should go out and run, but here is the recipe I like in case you want to try and make them.  I must add that these are good for runners because the protein in them is great and there is nothing like a nice, warm popover after a long run in the cold!!!  Happy Friday!!!!!!!!

RECIPE
1 1/2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted, plus softened butter for greasing pans
1 1/2 cups flour
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
3 extra-large eggs, at room temperature
1 1/2 cups milk, at room temperature

Directions

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.

Generously grease aluminum popover pans or Pyrex custard cups with softened butter. You’ll need enough pans to make 12 popovers. Place the pans in the oven for exactly 2 minutes to preheat. Meanwhile, whisk together the flour, salt, eggs, milk, and melted butter until smooth. The batter will be thin. Fill the popover pans less than half full and bake for exactly 30 minutes. Do not peek.

 

Leave a Reply

