The Ocean’s Run Half Marathon- South Kingstown, Rhode Island

Standard

Ability is what you are capable of doing.
Motivation determines what you do.
Attitude determines how well you do it.
–Lou Holtz

 

 

After many miles of driving, I landed in Rhode Island.  I was in Rhode Island for a brief visit.  I have never been there for a day.  I have to say, “wow!”  It was beautiful!!!  i stayed overnight in Jamestown.  I loved the Jamestown Bridge and it was beautiful to drive over at night with the lights on.  I felt like I was going to Hollywood.  I really enjoyed the drive from Chambersburg, Pennsylvania and it did not seem like it was really long.  I think it took me about 6 hours and a tank and a quarter of gas. 

 

I was a little disappointed I could not stay for the awards at the Chambersburg Half Marathon.  I grabbed my medal, chugged some chocolate milk, and ran to my car.  It turns out I was fourth place by about 50 seconds.  I wish I had known how close it was and I would have pushed harder.  I guess I have to learn how to build endurance.  I am happy that I was able to do decent in both races, though I am still far from my pr of 1:37.  I am frustrated, but I will get there.  My time for Chambersburg was 1:55:40 and the girl who was third was 1:54:59.  It was very hilly, but I am glad  I had the hills Saturday.

 

ImageThe Tappan Zee Bridge…really neat!  Outside of NYC

 

ImageI was told I should match.  I did for a little while, but I had to go back and change because it was only 30 outside.  I threw my Ironman shirt on and it totally did not match with my purple headband. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ImageI finished in 1:51:59.  The course read that I finished in 13.3 miles.  I thought that my watch was pretty accurate for the most part.  I did better than the last race, but this was a really flat course for us New Yorkers.  I laughed when I thought there would be hills.  I think there was one hill maybe.  It was cake.  I loved this course and there were water stops every mile.  I snuggled in my warm fleece I got for free at the end.  I did not stay for food, but chugged some coffee.  There were plenty of munchies and the people were very nice.  I would love to do this race again!!!!  If you volunteer here, I hear you get a free race entry.  I ran into some ladies from the Half Fanatics and Marathon Maniac Clubs.  Great Gals!!!!  I love the running scene.  I get excited when people talk about me winning, but I am just not back to where I was before competitively…but I argue that I enjoy it more now than I did before.  It was nice to enjoy the scenery and talk to people….I almost forgot to tell you…when I ran the Chambersburg Half, the sign of the day went to the girls who help up, “Keep it up Random Strangers!”  Funny!!!!!!!  I love spectators!

One thought on “The Ocean’s Run Half Marathon- South Kingstown, Rhode Island

Leave a Reply

